Am I eligible for a card? How do I get one?
Residents of Lowell
Residents of Lowell are eligible for a Pollard Memorial Library Card.
Bring proof of name and current Lowell residency to one of our checkout desks. Accepted proof of name and residency include an unexpired driver’s license or photo ID with current address listed or any official form with your name and current address included (utility bill, rental agreement, car registration, etc.)
Adult Registration Form Formulario de Registro de adultos
Children’s Registration Form Formulario de Registro de niños
When issued your library card, you are automatically assigned a password/PIN. You may use this to access your account online through the MVLC catalog. You will also need it to reserve a computer in the library. When you log into your account in the catalog, you can change your default PIN to any alpha-numeric password 4-10 characters in length. If you forget your password/PIN, we can reset it for you if you bring proof of name and your card to the First or Ground Floor Checkout Desk.
Library cards are good for 3 years. If your card has expired or you have trouble accessing your account online, please visit one of our checkout desks or call 978-674-4120 for assistance.
Library cards are not transferable and can only be used by the individual to whom the card is registered. Permission to allow a named friend or family member use of your card must be submitted in writing. Home-bound patrons may also write a letter requesting that a named friend or relative may use their card to borrow materials for them.
For those who are residents of Massachusetts, you are eligible to receive a free e-Card from the Boston Public Library. With that e-card, you can access their databases, which include various Boston papers and more. To apply for an e-Card go to https://www.bpl.org/ecard/. BPL databases can be accessed at https://www.bpl.org/online-resources/ for those who have a card or would like to see what’s available.
There is no age limit for getting a physical library card.*
Due to COPPA, eCards may only be issued to persons 13 years and older.
Any minor (under 18 years of age) may get a physical card with a parent’s or guardian’s signature (parent or guardian must be present and have valid proof of address). The person signing the registration form will be held responsible for items on the minor’s card, including any that become lost or damaged and all fines/fees that are incurred. Anyone under 18 years of age should use the Children’s form.
Residents of other towns in the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium (MVLC) must get a card at their home library, but that card may be used at Pollard Memorial Library and any other MVLC library.
Residents of Massachusetts towns not affiliated with the MVLC can also use the Pollard Library. Bring your hometown library card and valid proof of current address and we will enter your card number into our system.
Employees of the City of Lowell, Lowell National Historic Park, Lowell Heritage State Park, UMass Lowell, and Middlesex Community College who do not live in Massachusetts qualify for a Lowell-use only card. Please provide valid proof of name and address along with proof of employment at one of our checkout desks.
Out-of-state students from UMass Lowell and Middlesex Community College can also get Lowell-use only cards.
Lost or Stolen Cards
If your card is lost or stolen, please report it to us as soon as possible to avoid being held responsible for any items that may be checked out to the card. Any outstanding items, damaged charges or overdue fines on a lost or stolen card that was not reported are the sole responsibility of the named card-holder or (where appropriate) the card-holder’s parent/guardian.
Rules of Loan
All users must have a library card in hand to check out materials at the Pollard Memorial Library.
Items can be returned at any of the 36 libraries in the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium (MVLC).
|Item||Borrowing Limit||Borrowing Period||Renew?||Fees/Fines|
|Audiobooks, Playaways, MP3 CDs||None||3 weeks||Renew up to 2 times||.05¢ /day up to $3 per item maximum|
|Books||None||3 weeks||Renew up to 2 times||.05¢ /day up to $3 per item
|Summer Reading Books||Limited to 3 items per person||3 weeks||No renewals||.05¢ /day up to $3 per item
|CDs||None||3 weeks||Renew up to 2 times||.05¢ /day up to $3 per item maximum|
|CD-ROMs||One (1) per person||1 week||No renewals||.05¢ /day up to $3 per item
|None||1 week||Renew up to 2 times||.05¢ /day up to $3 per item
|DVDs||None||1 week||No renewals||$1 /day to $5 per item maximum|
Renewals are permitted on items not reserved for another patron.
*NEW* As of November 25, 2020, Lowell has implemented auto-renewal. Eligible items checked out at Pollard will be automatically renewed for an additional loan period 3 days before the items are due. This service is automatically turned on and there is no need to opt in. All restrictions to numbers of renewals (if any) and the inability to renew materials requested by other patrons will still apply. See MVLC’s FAQ on auto-renewal for more information and a list of the participating MVLC libraries. Please note that due to this new function, it will no longer be possible to renew items early through My Account. If you have questions or need to attempt renewal sooner, please contact the Library directly at 978-674-4120.
By Phone— Simply call 978-674-4120 during business hours. A staff member will be able to look up your due dates and help you renew items. Please have your library card available.
In Person— Stop by either Checkout Desk to check on your items’ due dates and renew.
Items belonging to other libraries may only be renewed according to the owning libraries’ policies.
In addition to the fines listed in the Rules of Loan section above, full replacement costs are charged for lost or damaged materials. Additional fees may be charged for items returned with damaged or missing parts.
DVD and Video package or paper insert damage/loss: $5.00
CD package damage or loss of paper insert: $5.00
Museum passes: $5.00 per day overdue fine. $25.00 for lost pass
Zipper Bags: $10.00
Fines can be paid at our self-check kiosks via cash or credit card (full or partial payments). Fines can also be paid through your online account with a credit card. Please note that fines must be a minimum of $5.00 to be processed online. Any amount can be processed at the self-service kiosk. There are no convenience fees charged to patrons but all payments are final and nonrefundable. Discover, Visa, MasterCard and American Express are all accepted. For a step by step guide to processing a credit card payment in My Account, click here download our guide. For patrons wishing to pay fines with a check or money order, please visit our Checkout Desks to handle this transaction.
Massachusetts State Law (G.L. c78:7) prohibits disclosure by a public library of a patron’s identity or patron’s borrowing history. The law does not differentiate among categories of library patrons and applies equally to records of minor patrons and those of adults.
By state law, public libraries may not disclose records which reveal a minor’s borrowing information to the minor’s parents, regardless of whether the parent is paying the fine on overdue items or the parent had signed the children’s library cards.