Skip to main content

Pollard Memorial Library Foundation
Elinor Lipman Award for Writing

The Pollard Memorial Library Foundation is delighted to sponsor the annual Elinor Lipman Award for Writing.  This award honors Elinor Lipman, a distinguished, prolific and much-loved author born and raised in Lowell, by awarding a prize of $1,000 for a work of fiction or creative nonfiction written by a Lowell-based author.  Submissions open February 13th and are welcome on or before 11:59 pm EDT, May 19, 2023.  See below for complete eligibility and submission guidelines.

2022 Recognition Event

from left to right: Lillian-Yvonne Bertram, winner of the 2022 Elinor Lipman Award for Writing, author Elinor Lipman, and Distinguished Mention, Stephen O’Connor.

From our 2022 winner, Lillian-Yvonne Bertram = “It was such an honor to win this award that highlights Lowell writers. There is no shortage of talent in Lowell that deserves recognition!”