Skip to main content

2013 Edgar Award Winners - Dennis Lehane takes top honors...


Last week the Mystery Writers of America announced the 2013 Edgar Allen Poe Awards for the best best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2012. Dennis Lehane, the 2012 Pollard Foundation Author Night speaker took home top honors for his novel Live By Night. There’s a full list of the winners (with links to our catalog) and the nominees below:

The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins
The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Potboiler by Jesse Kellerman
Sunset by Al Lamanda
Live by Night by Dennis Lehane  – WINNER
All I Did Was Shoot My Man by Walter Mosley

The Map of Lost Memories by Kim Fay
Don’t Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman
Mr. Churchill’s Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal
The Expats by Chris Pavone – WINNER
The 500 by Matthew Quirk
Black Fridays by Michael Sears

Complication by Isaac Adamson
Whiplash River by Lou Berney
Bloodland by Alan Glynn
Blessed are the Dead by Malla Nunn
The Last Policeman: A Novel by Ben H. Winters – WINNER

Midnight in Peking: How the Murder of a Young Englishwoman Haunted the Last Days of Old China by Paul French – WINNER
Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America by Gilbert King
More Forensics and Fiction: Crime Writers’ Morbidly Curious Questions Expertly Answered by D.P. Lyle, MD
Double Cross: The True Story of the D-Day Spies by Ben Macintyre
The People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo – and the Evil that Swallowed Her Up by Richard Lloyd Parry

Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe: The Hard-Boiled Detective Transformed by John Paul Athanasourelis
Books to Die For: The World’s Greatest Mystery Writers on the World’s Greatest Mystery Novels edited by John Connolly and Declan Burke
The Scientific Sherlock Holmes: Cracking the Case with Science and Forensics by James O’Brien – WINNER
In Pursuit of Spenser: Mystery Writers on Robert B. Parker and the Creation of an American Hero edited by Otto Penzler

“Iphigenia in Aulis” – An Apple for the Creature by Mike Carey (Penguin Group USA – Ace Books)
“Hot Sugar Blues” – Mystery Writers of America Presents: Vengeance by Steve Liskow
“The Void it Often Brings With It” – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Tom Piccirilli
“The Unremarkable Heart” – Mystery Writers of America Presents: Vengeance by Karin Slaughter – WINNER
“Still Life No. 41″ – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Teresa Solana

Fake Mustache: Or, How Jodie O’Rodeo and Her Wonder Horse (and Some Nerdy Kid) Saved the U.S. Presidential Election from a Mad Genius Criminal Mastermind by Tom Angleberger
13 Hangmen by Art Corriveau
The Quick Fix by Jack D. Ferraiolo – WINNER
Spy School by Stuart Gibbs
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

Emily’s Dress and Other Missing Things by Kathryn Burak
The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George
Crusher by Niall Leonard
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

“Pilot” – Longmire, Teleplay by Hunt Baldwin & John Coveny
“Child Predator” – Elementary, Teleplay by Peter Blake
“Slaughterhouse” – Justified, Teleplay by Fred Golan
“A Scandal in Belgravia” – Sherlock, Teleplay by Steven Moffat
“New Car Smell” – Homeland, Teleplay by Meredith Stiehm